Information

Customer Reviews

HiFime Sabre 9018 USB TYPE C
Works for 2.0 and 5.1 audio from my 2016 MacBook Pro.
18/01/2017Ben
HiFime Sabre 9018 USB DAC
It has great sound in combination with headphones; there is a lot of detail and a good sound stage. On my car radio there is an unbelievable gain in detail, especially in the low end.   However, I am having issues with the iPhone 6s, there is jitter every few seconds making it impossible to enjoy. It works quite well on my Dell E5570, but there still is jitter, though very little. No jitter on my desktop, but the highs are too harsh on my sound system and the sound stage is more compact compared to my Asus Essence STX II + OPA627 as buffer + LT1498 in I/V. It does yield more detail, but I know that is the trade-off by using the LT1498 in I/V; they are very open at cost of a little detail. The most obvious difference however is how voices and string instruments are very soft in comparison, they are blended into the background and therefore more difficult to perceive compared to my current setup.   Overall, I am enjoying it very much in combination with my Sennheiser HD449 headphones!
17/01/2017Sander
HiFime UDA18 USB and SPDIF DAC
I'll give an initial review here and update in a week or so. Right out of the box I can tell this is a great implementation of the Sabre 9018 chip, I already own a HiFime Sabre 9018 USB DAC with isolator and can tell the UDA18 sounds better, more integrated and cohesive. The sound is warm and open with a wide soundstage both left to right and front to back. The trebles are not harsh, which has been a criticism with past implementations of the Sabre 9018. I initially fired it up with just the USB cable and it sounds great, but adding a 6V DC power supply improves the sound even more. I shall try it with an optical cable over the next few days and with the drivers when they are available. Going with the OPA2134 jfet chips was an excellent idea, they are my favorite op-amps outside of the Sparkos and Burson op-amps. The OPA2134 are very clean and detailed op-amps. HiFime get's a 10/10 at the initial listening stage.
16/01/2017Stu
HiFime Sabre 9018 USB TYPE C
I connected "HiFime Sabre 9018 USB TYPE C" to my smartphone. The LED lights momentarily weakly, it turns off, and it will not be recognized. Using the OTG function conversion connector, the LED lights up when connected, I was able to listen to music via USB. "Xiaomi MI5S Plus(xiaomi.eu custom ROM installed)" - "USB type-c to a conversion connector" - "USB type-a to c conversion connector" - "HiFime Sabre 9018 USB TYPE C"
06/01/2017Tomokazu
HiFimeDIY Sabre USB DAC ES9023 96kHz/24bit
Muscle and detail! Makes voices shine, instruments breathe, and it delivers all the deep and and well-defined bass my Shure SE215s earplugs can handle.
05/01/2017Chordrider
HiFime Sabre 9018 USB DAC
This is a great DAC. Used in a Linux system with QED interconnects, Linn amplification and Rogers Floorstanders. No issues with firmware. I played 24/96 masters FLAC, CD quality 16/44 files and radio streams up to 320 Kb/s. I listened to Jazz, Blues, Classical, Rock, Choral, Operas, Folk, Pop music. The experience is wonderful. Badly recorded music are exposed, but this DAC is somewhat more forgiving than other I experienced. Well recorded music is close to perfection: extremely detailed and accurate at all frequencies, Bass have great extension, precision and accuracy. Mids are wonderful, highs detailed, agile and truthful. No harshness nor graininess. Dynamics is outstanding. Pace is superb. Incredibly revealing but beautifully musical. Soundstage truly shines: wide, deep and incredibly precise.
02/01/2017Alvis
HiFime UDP80 USB and SPDIF True Digital Power Amplifier
Having used different kind of Hypex and B&O amps with high quality DACs, I found the sound of this unit really satisfying. There is a combination of "ease" and clarity, but still with stability and power, that is really good using a Squeezbox connected via Toslink. Recommended. Support is also great. //
19/12/2016Johan
HiFime UDP80 USB and SPDIF True Digital Power Amplifier
Hi, Amazing value for money, this one makes sound T or D amp muddy. No harshness.
15/12/2016Chris
HiFimeDIY Sabre Tiny USB DAC
I just received this piece of hardware and I am listening to music with it right now. The sound is fuller with my HD558 and the bass is a lot better. Definitely an improvement from my built in notebook jack.
13/12/2016meszi
Hifime SPDIF Optical 9018 DAC
Another comment on setup. The TV must be set to 2 channel PCM - not Dolby. My audio player has a pure direct mode that needed to be turned off to use the TOSlink output. Definitely consider this DAC if you have an analog integrated amp or preamp/power amp. Excellent product.
03/12/2016S.O.
Hifime SPDIF Optical 9018 DAC
(3 reviews merged) I owe it to HiFiMeDIY to revise my previous comments. This is my first external DAC component. My audio player has a 32 bit Burr-Brown DAC. I thought it was a good source because it's more detailed than my previous players. I didn't suspect the internal DAC was the reason CD's and WAV files sounded better than other formats. MP3's usually had a graininess and most FLAC files were a little flat compared to WAV files. The 9018k2m DAC is the economy version and it's noticeably better than the internal Burr-Brown DAC. I'd thought the details were good before but the 9018k2m chip brings them out even more. I can hear and understand background sounds on live recordings that I've listened to many times and never heard before. The new detail gives a bit more depth which too. With the 9018k2m, MP3 files are clear with no graininess. Pandora is now a listening option and the TV can sound better than the CD player. Just don't try to use it as a headphone amp. UPDATED, previous review: I'd like to update my initial review but wasn't able to log-in to edit. My initial attempt was to use this as a headphone amp which is not how it was designed. When used between the TV and my integrated amp as a line-in it does not clip the output and provides great sound. The spec says the output can drive 32 ohm headphones but it doesn't. I doubt that it could drive 600 ohm headphones too. Using 3.5mm to RCA line-in cable it works as designed. UPDATED INITIAL REVIEW:Received a preordered unit yesterday. Have it powered by a battery pack. Not able to control volume over SPDIF and am hearing significant clipping. A cable with the 3.5mm end and an adapter end was included. If the clipping can get fixed this will be a good deal for the price.
01/12/2016Scott O.
Hifime High-Speed USB Isolator
I just wanted to pass along that this device works great with my Line 6 Helix. I had a lot of white noise coming from my PC. Mouse movements and crazy computer glitches. I needed this one due to the 8 usb channels the helix can do. All is well...and quiet!! Thanks!!
30/11/2016James
Hifime High-Speed USB Isolator
YES!!!! I have silenced my GA Z97 MX Gaming mobo which spews out noise to my UR242 via the USB (with nothing else connected between them whatsoever to make a ground loop, this was a pure USB noise/ground loop problem) despite marketing around their DAC-UP USB ports. Mind you, just about every computer I've had since after dual G4 400 powermacs have been noisy, even my 08 Mac Pro lets out a little noise through the audio channels. If you can't go optical, the Hifime High-Speed USB Isolator simply works. I can now grow my hair back. Any day now.
30/11/2016Jeremy
HiFimeDIY USB Isolator
If you live in a country that has old 2-phase electricity grid with no proper 3rd grounding line, you NEED this. Applies to most eastern-european contries. It eliminated all my parasitic noises coming from the PC due to the poor grounding. Using it with PC > ODAC > Headphones/Active Monitors and it works like a charm.
21/11/2016Ivo
Hifime High-Speed USB Isolator
This works perfectly! My monitors have gone from unbearably noisy to dead quiet. Using the Native Instruments Audio Kontrol 1 - 192KHz 24bit. Tried with phantom power enabled as well, no problems so far. Thanks for an excellent product!
09/11/2016Tom
Input: 230VAC output: +-55V (dual voltage) DC (+-10%) Current: 500W  Dimensions: 100x100x44m..
$82.99

High quality gold plated RCA plugs. One pair ..
$5.00

High quality gold plated speaker connctor plugs. ..
$10.00

Our original and bestselling Sabre dac with ES9023 DAC chip, SA9023 USB receiver. The newest ba..
$42.00
Based on 34 reviews.

The Hifimediy Sabre U2 Asynchronous DAC was developed by DIY (do it yourself} enthusiasts in th..
$59.00
Based on 42 reviews.

edit: New High-Speed isolator available here: Hifime High-Speed USB Isolator ($79) The Hi..
$29.99
Based on 15 reviews.

iPhone adaptor available here (lightning to USB). Best portable DAC in Norwegian newspaper VG! 6 ..
$69.00
Based on 18 reviews.

US : 54.205.153.63