Information

Customer Reviews

HiFime 9018D USB DAC
Very well rounded dac with even balance across all frequency and while it doesn't have the widest soundstage, which actually may be good for some songs, it has precise positioning and imaging thanks to its separation capability. With its small size (quite small unlike one might think looking at the picture), it's a great transportable DAC for notebook users. In theory you should also be able to use with smartphones if you get it usb splitter and power bank but I haven't tried it yet. All in all, very good DAC for the price!
04/05/2015Hary
HiFimeDIY Sabre U2 Asynchronous USB DAC
Очень музыкальный и стоит своих денег. Рекомендую. Asio звучит хуже асинхронного режима. Драйверы не нужны на WinXP. Спасибо создателям этого маленького по размеру, но не по звуку, DAC! Рекомендую. Very musical and very good value for money. Recommend. Asio sounds worse asynchronous mode. No drivers are required for WinXP. Thanks to the creators of this small in size but not in sound, DAC! Recommend.
28/04/2015golov17
HiFime 9018D USB DAC
This is a great sounding DAC with a nice design and proper digital volume control. For more info check my review at Head-Fi! http://www.head-fi.org/products/hifime-9018d-asynchronous-high-resolution-usb-dac/reviews/12903
13/04/2015BorisH
HiFimeDIY Sabre Android DAC
The sound quality is excellent ! The battery drain is OK, It works great on my GALAXY S5. The only problem I'll point out: The cable is too short and too stiff. It puts too much strain on the USB port of the phone. After a few month, the connection between the phone and the USB DAC became too loose, and I have a lot of 'USB disconnected' message on my phone. Even the metal part at the end of the USB tip start to move inside the plastic jacket. So be careful with it and everything will be fine.
25/03/2015aymeric
Hifimediy T4 Jantzen
I rarely write review; this time I felt obliged to. I wanted to buy Arcam FMJ A19 (What Hifi best amp, 2014 up to £800). Seller brought it over for comparing. I must say I am struggled to find a difference although I was hoping to have a proper Amp. finally! I politely declined to purchase, I am keeping mine definitely. I changed my caps to Jentsen superior Z caps and listening with Dali Zensor. All I could say impressive especially for the price.
20/03/2015Bulent Ozar
HiFimeDIY Sabre USB DAC ES9023 96kHz/24bit
Simply amazing dac for the price. Very musical and detailed. Easily beats my Xonar DGX and my thousand bucks Onkyo in sound quality. As of now, this thing is feeding the processor in my car install with (Rooted/modded) Nexus 7 mounted in dash. Works without a hitch. These quys are doing amazing job with their products. 5/5. I'm ordering another one.
17/03/2015Pete H.
Hifimediy T1-M TK2050 9 - 24V
Amazing value for the money! It sounds insanely good for the price. It easily beats my modded TA-2020 amp and driving my little Magnat speakers, it's quite on par with my main amp, which costs about thousand bucks more. The screw terminals for the wires are nice, so unless you want, there's really minimal soldering needed, save for the grounding wire and the power led you might want to mount to your case. Yes, there is an actual green power led besides the mentioned orange standby led. (I didn't realize this from the product description.) The only thing i feel missing are relays for the speakers to prevent that little pop when powered on, thou the tiny high pitched pop sounds quite harmless really. If you are looking for a small, inexpensive amp, this is really a no-brainer. Hell, i'll even urge you to get one just to be amazed what can be accomplished for thirty bucks nowadays.
17/03/2015Pete H.
HiFime 9018 Asynchronous High resolution USB DAC
My full review at Head-Fi: http://www.head-fi.org/products/hifime-9018-asynchronous-high-resolution-usb-dac/reviews/12586 ------------(reviews merged)----------------- Pros - Detailed sound - Controlled (tight bass, clear highs) - Instrument separation, even with busy recordings - Soundstage Cons - Limited output power - 8 level volume control - Plastic housing - LED location Overview The HiFime 9018 is a definite improvement compared to the sound card of my MacBook Pro. I still recommend an amp to drive high impedance HFS like the HD650 and my pair of DT990 250Ohm. Maxed out it will drive the DT990 to a loud listening level but nothing more. Android 5 native support works like a charm, really nice for those bedtime listening sessions :) The LED indicator is on the bottom while connected to a laptop. Weird! Comparison I compared the HiFime 9018 to the Fiio E10k. They are close with a slight edge towards the 9018s sound. Then again the Fiio has a more capable amp & high quality finish. Conclusion Quality DAC but limited amp for high impedance headphones. Technically superior to its predecessors although no longer the great bargain. Hifime reply: Thanks for the feedback. We had to reduce the max output power so that the DAC would not be too loud with many normal headphones. The 9018D model with display and 255step volume control will have higher output----------------------------------------------------------------- 2 reviews merged ----------------------------------------------------------- @Alex, @HiFime: I also cannot alter the volume below 0db while listening to DSD files with Audirvana+ on Mac. Luckily for me this still is a listenable volume on my 250 Ohm HPS. I suspect the reason is that below 0db the digital signal going into the DAC chip is altered by the USB receiver's volume control. Is there a way around this? Will this also be the case with the 9018D's lossless volume control, I guess not? In any case native DSD128 files really show the true potential of the DAC. What an amazing sound! Hifime reply: Yes, volume level of DSD is not supported by the USB receiver. Not sure if any other USB receivers support this. The 9018D model will be able to change the volume on, as the volume level is adjusted in the DAC chip. You can take further discussion/replies here: http://hifimediy.com/news/announcing-new-dacs-hifime-9018-series.html
26/02/2015BorisH
HiFime 9018 Asynchronous High resolution USB DAC
This is a preposterously good DAC. If you have an android phone and you want an upgrade from your current headphone out, please do yourself a favor and buy this one. I cannot recommend the smaller 9023 android dac, which made my JH Audio Roxannes sound muddy, but this 9018 one draws enough power to make my Roxannes sound quite good. I never listen to my android phone without this.
24/02/2015AMG
HiFime 9018 Asynchronous High resolution USB DAC
Upgraded from the HIFIMEDIY SABRE USB DAC ES9023 96KHZ/24BIT to HIFIME 9018 ASYNCHRONOUS HIGH RESOLUTION USB DAC - I stream Tidal>Windows 8.1>SSD HD>J River>silver interconects>Marantz MP6004>Celestion Ditton 44's(old but a great warm sound) and find a good increase in fidelity, detail, Bass/trebble definition and sound stage. Upped Bass and mid range by 3-5 db. Very pleased wit the results. My only hassle (which does not affect the end sound quality) is that I could not get ASIO to work so I output in WASAPI at 192/24 which is what the incoming signal is from Tidal. Overall very pleased with sound and well worth the price.
24/02/2015Richard
HiFimeDIY Sabre Android DAC
I've had this over a long weekend and I really like the sound. I am using it with a Motorola moto g, 1st generation, which I thought, had a great sounding headphone out jack. This is at least 20 percent better sounding. Maybe more. I am piping the signal to a fiio e12 mont blanc amp, then out to my headphones, either my AKG K240 studio or hifiman RE-400. Both sound noticeably better. I am streaming Tidal flac with no problems. No driver download, just plug and play. Nice.
23/02/2015Stroupstein
HiFimeDIY Sabre USB DAC 2 (external PSU) Asynchronous
works great with my raspberry pi 2 running openelec 5.0.3/kodi 14.1. clean, beautiful sound over network storage. alsa picks it right up as 'sa9023 usb audio, analog'. big fan of the led on the front of the unit only lighting up with it's receiving an audio signal.
20/02/2015james
HiFime 9018 Asynchronous High resolution USB DAC
good dac but I have a problem to listen SACD files on a computer with foodbar. There is no possibility to adjust the volume : listen with headphones is impossible. Do you have a solution to allow foodbar to adjust volume on SACD files (ISO, DSF...) ?
15/02/2015alex
HiFimeDIY Sabre Android DAC
Not a good experience for me. I received my unit badly scratched and blemished--it clearly had belonged to someone else before me. It may have been one returned previously, I'm not sure. Improvement in sound quality was negligible to undiscernible going from an S3 straight to headphones. While I was evaluating the product and weighing the pros and cons of returning it (having to ship back to China), the "generous" 7 day window for returns had elapsed. Not recommended. Hifime reply: We are actually not that strict on the 7 day return window and we plan to change it to 14 days. Contact us if you'd like to return it. We can also receive returns to UK and Oregon, USA. We get the cases we use for the DAC's from a supplier in China and they arrive like this, they all have minor marks and scratches unfortunately.
13/02/2015Walter
HiFimeDIY Sabre SPDIF DAC with headphone amplifier and 230V power supply
Not as transparent as my audioengine D1. Sound stage wide but voices sound fairly thin. Also seems to be slightly deficient in the subwoofer range frequencies. Very good for the price but can't expect more than what you paid for.
12/02/2015James
Input: 230VAC output: +-55V (dual voltage) DC (+-10%) Current: 500W  Dimensions: 100x100x44m..
$82.99

High quality gold plated RCA plugs. One pair ..
$5.00

High quality gold plated speaker connctor plugs. ..
$10.00

Our original and bestselling Sabre dac with ES9023 DAC chip, SA9023 USB receiver. The newest ba..
$42.00
Based on 34 reviews.

The Hifimediy Sabre U2 Asynchronous DAC was developed by DIY (do it yourself} enthusiasts in th..
$59.00
Based on 42 reviews.

edit: New High-Speed isolator available here: Hifime High-Speed USB Isolator ($79) The Hi..
$29.99
Based on 15 reviews.

This Sabre Android Dac has a MicroUSB cable instead of a usb cable and works with some Android phone..
$29.99
Based on 30 reviews.

US : 54.204.95.166