Information

Customer Reviews

HiFimeDIY Sabre Android DAC
Not a good experience for me. I received my unit badly scratched and blemished--it clearly had belonged to someone else before me. It may have been one returned previously, I'm not sure. Improvement in sound quality was negligible to undiscernible going from an S3 straight to headphones. While I was evaluating the product and weighing the pros and cons of returning it (having to ship back to China), the "generous" 7 day window for returns had elapsed. Not recommended. Hifime reply: We are actually not that strict on the 7 day return window and we plan to change it to 14 days. Contact us if you'd like to return it. We can also receive returns to UK and Oregon, USA. We get the cases we use for the DAC's from a supplier in China and they arrive like this, they all have minor marks and scratches unfortunately.
13/02/2015Walter
HiFimeDIY Sabre SPDIF DAC with headphone amplifier and 230V power supply
Not as transparent as my audioengine D1. Sound stage wide but voices sound fairly thin. Also seems to be slightly deficient in the subwoofer range frequencies. Very good for the price but can't expect more than what you paid for.
12/02/2015James
HiFimeDIY USB Isolator
Definitely legit If you have a dying motherboard and can literally hear the hiss/fuzz difference between different USB ports, then this is for you Does as advertised
12/02/2015Ryan
HiFimeDIY Sabre Android DAC
I have paired this DAC with my HTC One M8 (Android Lollipop), which has a rather noisy headphone out for sensitive IEMs - this is especially noticeable at low volumes. Using the DAC I get a very clean sound and no audible noise! Great value for the money!
10/02/2015Fadem
Hifimediy ES9023 I2S DAC for Raspberry Pi mod B 192Khz/24bit
Received in good order. Have not yet applied power as I have a fitment concern. When put in place atop the Pi on the pins, a soldered pin for an audio jack bears on the Pi's capacitor (the capacitor near the power plug, between C3 and C6 on the Pi board.) This causes the ES9023 I2S DAC to sit at an angle, plus I'm worried about shorting something when I power up. Will the audio jack short to the case of the capacitor?
09/02/2015John
HiFimeDIY Sabre Android DAC
Was looking for a DAC for my Nexus 7 1st gen model from 2012. Saw a lot of expensive products, $100 or more. But I wasn't sure if I wanted to take a chance on it not being that great of an improvement. I remembered that HiFiMeDIY had some more affordable alternatives.I ordered the sabre android DAC from the US distributor and had it in hand in like 3 days.works fine with the Nexus 7 2012 tablet as long as you get the USB Audio Pro Player app. EVERYTHING sounds better, better soundstage, better separation between channels, more detail, etc. It took my desktop set up to another level.I have Audio Technica atx700s and I don't get ear blasting volume unless I turn up the pre-amp/EQ volume on the USB Pro Audio player. When this is plugged into your tablet you cannot charge it, so it sucks battery and you will need to work out charging versus playing music.For $30 you get a nice introduction to the world of DAC audio, and to my ear it's totally worth it.
02/02/2015steveeboy
HiFimeDIY Sabre USB DAC 2 (external PSU) Asynchronous
I purchased this particular DAC with the dedicated power supply (PS-M3) to form the stack. I use it to drive Shure SRH 440s which aren't the lowest impedance. I was very pleased with the output from a Mac Mini via this DAC to my headphones. Seems lively and clarity is great. I am going to let the DAC burn in so that it can open up more. I was considering a Schiit Modi/Magni combo instead of this unit. I must say (without hearing the Schiit gear) that is a very good unit and for a starter in this area a must.
04/01/2015Aly
HiFimeDIY UX1 Sabre USB DAC+SPDIF/USB converter
I needed an adapter for the MYTEK STERE96 ADC converter which only has S/PDIF and TOSLINK outputs. HIFIMEDIY UX1 SABRE USB DAC+SPDIF/USB CONVERTER does precisely this: it takes optical TOSLINK signal and sends it to USB. It actually seems the only device of a kind for this purpose: TOSLINK input disappeares from recent motherboards, while most (all?) external USB soundcards require proprietary drivers. Just like the product description says, on Linux, I did not need to worry about any drivers. The product also works as an external DAC, conveniently showing the bitrate. The only important issue was that I needed to use a USB 2.0 quality cable to connect the adapter to my laptop. The device works flawlessly. Thank you, HIFIMEDIY!
31/12/2014Karl Schusterling
HiFimeDIY Sabre U2 Asynchronous USB DAC
Great DAC for great music, really worth the price. I bought it after stunning blind tests with one I borrowed. Thank you for this piece of hardware! (note: on the very first use on MS Windows just wait a moment for the OS to install the drivers, it can take 1-2 mn on some PC, after that no delay on plug-in)
31/12/2014Advid
HiFimeDIY USB Isolator
I did a blind test with someone who bought it, along with the Sabre U2 DAC: I prefer the sound without isolator than with it. With the isolator it seems to me that sound lacks power, especially with the low frequencies. This is subjective but done in blind test with consistent results. Maybe the isolator limits the current available to the DAC? (thus the lack of power in sound) Or that isolator could be defective. Could someone try this blind test with someone else who plug and unplug the isolator between the DAC and the PC ?
31/12/2014Advid
Hifimediy T1-M TK2050 9 - 24V
Nice sounding amp. The volume knob broke off on mine.
31/12/2014Brent McDonald
HiFimeDIY USB Isolator
I had noise issues coming from my desktop PC USB ports. All of them. I was happy to find that my audio interface needed less than 200mA (it needs 150mA) so I decided to try this USB isolator. It works marvellously! I hear absolutely no noise. Even with my unplugged laptop I would get some noise but with this little device my audio is as crisp as can be with any computer I've tried it with. I'm so glad it solved my issues without shelling out legit cheddar on an industrial isolator. Big up!
31/12/2014Pär Strindevall
HiFimeDIY Sabre U2 Asynchronous USB DAC
I bought this small device some time ago, more from curiosity, never listen to any ESS Sabre chip dac before. I wasn't impressed first time I listened. I used to listen with Centrance DACMini and Audeze LCD2. I used DACMini as headphone amp with U2 as dac. I also tried with Westone W3 and I couldn't say I liked better as before. In the meanwhile I acquired some AKG K340 and decided to try it again, since 3D imaging was the forte feature of K340 vs LCD2. This time I was really impressed by the U2 sound vs DACMini's dac. Even if micro details were less precise, the sound was better localized as soundstage, sound seems to flow naturally, with better depth. Comparing to U2, DACMini's dac appear to be more 2D than 3D.
28/11/2014Ovidiu A.
Hifimediy T1 ALPS vol pot TK2050 STA510 JANTZEN CAP
wired into a smsl 32 volt smps feeding ipl s3 transmission line speakers with a sensitivity of about 88 words cannot say just how good this amp is but i will try timing is amazing like naim without the bite mid range is fantastically lucid and to die for bass is large and very tight with a very large open sound stage i was a bit concerned that power would be a problem but have not been able to turn volume past 12 o'clock in a 5 by 7 meter room even at first switch when on i could hear no harshness or fatigue and it has only got better with more play i used to dream of owning amps that sounded like this but could never afford the price tag you could box this amp and sell it for 10x the price and it would still be a bargain this is truly the golden age of hifi
28/11/2014shaun
Hifimediy T1X4, TK2050 4 channel STA508
A very good amp indeed! Compared to another manufacturers' 4 Channel TK2050 board (which i used before & liked a lot) this one is quiet a step ahead! Very good soundstage. Crisp, clear & unbribable. I'm also very satisfied with the resolution of details. I'm actually using it hooked to a meanwell 350 VA power supply and it fits just fine. Empirically on connex supplies amps are a bit more "sinewy" driven tho', but this combo already is performing with a lot of spirit. I could imagine some clarity caps px or esa at input section replacing the (already good) spirit mkp's would probably increase the sonics towards some more liquescent experience, but that's only my two cents ... anyways, the delivered configuration plays very neutral in best figurative sense! Cheers & thanks!
24/11/2014Simon
High quality gold plated RCA plugs. One pair ..
$5.00

High quality gold plated speaker connctor plugs. ..
$10.00

The T1 amp deploys the sta510a as output chip in full bridged, non-paralled configuration.This amp i..
$42.00

Our original and bestselling Sabre dac with ES9023 DAC chip, SA9023 USB receiver. The newest ba..
$42.00
Based on 36 reviews.

The Hifimediy Sabre U2 Asynchronous DAC was developed by DIY (do it yourself} enthusiasts in th..
$59.00
Based on 42 reviews.

edit: New High-Speed isolator available here: Hifime High-Speed USB Isolator ($79) The Hi..
$29.99
Based on 16 reviews.

Best portable DAC in Norwegian newspaper VG! 6 stars and best portable DAC of the Year in Lyd og Bil..
$69.00
Based on 22 reviews.

US : 23.20.50.242